Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Union's Andre Blake Named Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year

Philadelphia Union Goalkeeper Andre Blake Wins Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Award

2016 MLS All-Star Blake earns Goalkeeper of the Year accolade

CHESTER, Pa. (Nov. 17, 2016) – Major League Soccer today announced that Philadelphia Union goalkeeper Andre Blake has won the 2016 Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year Award. In his first full season as the first choice goalkeeper for Philadelphia, Blake compiled a stellar campaign that saw him start 32 matches, stop 99 shots and register 10 of the Union’s 11 wins (with six shutouts) while being nominated for the League’s Save of the Week award 12 times.

Voted upon by MLS club management, media, and current players, Blake was joined by Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids) and Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls) as a finalist for the award.

Blake joined Philadelphia ahead of the 2014 season after being the first and only goalkeeper to ever be selected first overall in the MLS SuperDraft that year. The native of Jamaica recorded six or more saves on five different occasions throughout the 2016 campaign and was named as a 2016 MLS All-Star, where he served as the starter for the MLS squad against English Premier League side Arsenal FC.

Blake has also served as the first choice goalkeeper for his country’s national time, most recently backstopping Jamaica to a shutout victory over Suriname that saw the Reggae Boyz secure qualification for both the 2017 Caribbean Cup and the 2017 Gold Cup.

The goalkeeper becomes the first Philadelphia player to ever be named MLS Goalkeeper of the Year as well as the fourth member of the Union to ever capture a year-end MLS award, including the third this season alone. Blake joins Chris Pontius (2016 MLS Comeback Player of the Year), Keegan Rosenberry (2016 MLS Fair Play Award) and Sebastien Le Toux (2010 MLS Best XI, 2010 and 2011 MLS Fair Play Award) as Union players to earn a year-end League honor.

MLS Goalkeeper of the Year – All-Time Winners:

2016: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union

2015: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls

2014: Bill Hamid – D.C. United

2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers

2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City

2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC

2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy

2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA

2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire

2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA

2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United

2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids

2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes

2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes

2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars

2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards

1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy

1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire

1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew

1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn


Philadelphia was awarded the 16th Major League Soccer franchise on Feb. 28, 2008 and the Union were officially named on May 11, 2009. Owned and operated by Keystone Sports and Entertainment, LLC, the group launched the Philadelphia Union's inaugural season on March 25, 2010 and opened Talen Energy Stadium on June 27. Throughout the club’s seven-year history, the Union have reached the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Final in 2014 and 2015, and have also reached the MLS playoffs in 2011. In 2016, the Union opened their seventh year at Talen Energy Stadium, a soccer-specific stadium that has hosted internationally known clubs Celtic, Chivas de Guadalajara, Everton, Schalke 04, Aston Villa, Pumas UNAM, Stoke City, Crystal Palace and AFC Bournemouth. For more information about Philadelphia Union, visit​