Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Six new members to be inducted into National Soccer Hall of Fame on Saturday

May 5, 2023 02:14 PM


Six new members will be inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame on Saturday in a ceremony at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.

The class of 2023 includes DaMarcus Beasley, Landon Donovan, Jill Ellis, Lauren Cheney Holiday, Kate Sobrero Markgraf and Slavisa “Steve” Zungul.

Former U.S. Women’s National Team goalkeeper Hope Solo, a member of the 2022 class, will also be inducted after deferring her ceremony last year.

Grant Wahl will be honored as a posthumous recipient of the 2023 Colin Jose Media Award, which honors journalists whose careers have made significant long-term contributions to soccer in the United States. Wahl died at age 49 in December while covering the World Cup in Qatar.

“These inductees are amazing examples of the growth and strength of soccer in our country,” said Djorn Buchholz, executive director of the National Soccer Hall of Fame. “They represent so much of what makes the game special here, from the excellence of our national teams to our first-division domestic leagues as well.

Fans and media can watch a livestream of the private event on the National Soccer Hall of Fame website and Telemundo’s social media channels beginning at 2 p.m. eastern time.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium opened to the public in Frisco, Texas, on Nov. 2, 2018, after calling Oneonta, N.Y., its home from 1983 through 2010.

Full 2023 voting results and complete information about election and eligibility procedures are available at The election process is administered by National Soccer Hall of Fame staff under election and eligibility guidelines established by the Hall of Fame Board of Directors.