Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Eastern Pennsylvania Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

IMG_0454Lancaster—(Feb 25)—Eastern Pennsylvania Youth Soccer honored 15 award winners and 20 Union League of Philadelphia Good Citizenship Award recipients as part of its Annual Awards Banquet Saturday. More than 200 attendees packed the Heritage Ballroom of the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square to help celebrate the year in soccer in Eastern Pennsylvania.

Lancaster resident and Eastern Pennsylvania Youth Soccer President Jim Kuntz presided over the event with Eastern Pennsylvania Youth Soccer CEO Chris Branscome emceeing.

“This was an opportunity for us to recognize the individuals who have helped build and maintain the excellent soccer community we have here in Eastern Pennsylvania,” said Branscome. “We are grateful for their contributions.”

Several of the award winners have made their mark in Central Pennsylvania, including Excellence in Coaching recipient Mike Moyer, Service to Community winner Larry Jones and Service to Youth recipients Lennie Brown and Vic Engel. HMMS Youth Soccer, which covers Hamden, Middlesex, Monroe and Silver Springs Townships, was named the D’Anjolell Award winner as club of the year. The full list of award recipients is below:

TOPSoccer for Special Needs Players Buddy of the Year

Nicole Boyd, Lower Dauphin TOPSoccer

Volunteers of the Year

Kevin & Carrie Wagner, Annville-Cleona Soccer

Administrator of the Year

Bill Esterly, Capital Area Soccer Club (CASA)

Boys Travel Coach of the Year

Dean Costalas, Palumbo Soccer Club

Girls Travel Coach of the Year

John Greaves, Yardley Makefield Soccer (YMS)

Girls Recreational Coach of the Year

Steve Brenenborg, Hellam Eastern Soccer

Boys Recreational Coach of the Year

Gerald B. McCall, Jr., Aston Youth Soccer Association

Young Male Referee of the Year

Michael Grello

Young Female Referee of the Year

Courtney Browning

Service to Community

Larry Jones

Excellence in Coaching

Mike Moyer

Service to Youth

Vic Engel & Lennie Brown

D’Anjolell Award (Club of the Year)

HMMS Youth Soccer Association

Eastern Pennsylvania Youth Soccer also recognized its 20 Union League of Philadelphia Good Citizenship Award winners at the Awards Banquet. The Good Citizen Award goes to high school juniors involved in Eastern Pennsylvania Youth Soccer who demonstrate the qualities of good citizenship. Those winners were Sonya Dervishian, Jacqueline Ziegler, Miles Hanamirian, Shannon McCarthy, Reed Bertram, Grace Rorke, Nicholas Nizinski, Jacob Spear, Kyler Balliet, Ryan Heaton, Sarah Cooney, David Alcock, Justin Leggin, Stephen Longo, Jacob Cohen, Rachel Edge, Marlena Purcell, Elizabeth DeCarlo, Allyson Holtz and Jacob Hendershot.

The Eastern Pennsylvania Soccer Association also inducted its 2017 Hall of Fame Class, which included Paul Stilley, Robert Ong, Werner Fricker, Jr., Jeffrey DeLuca, and Peter Kennedy.