Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

News - Details

Fair Play awards presented for Philadelphia International Unity Cup

October 24, 2023 08:16 AM

3PHILADELPHIA — Another successful Philadelphia International Unity Cup was celebrated last week with an awards banquet at The Discovery Center.

Chris Branscome, CEO of Eastern Pennsylvania Youth Soccer, gave out fair play awards during the event and additional award winners and the two winning teams were recognized.

"We've been part of this from the beginning because all of you started like I did as a young player," Branscome said. "I know so many of you now have children of your own and you work with children in the community. That's what our goal is to build soccer in the city of Philadelphia." 

Team Ireland won the competition on the men's side for the first time in the eighth final held at Novacare Complex on Oct. 15. Team USA won the first ever women's competition earlier that day. 

Brianna Banks, who coaches youth at Kensington Soccer Club and has played professionally, led Team USA to the first women's title. 

"We got to finally put our bodies and our feelings and emotions into what the men experienced the last few years," Banks said. "We always watched the games, never got to experience them so it was really great."

Photo Gallery >

Fair Play Awards

Women: Group A - Guatemala, Group B - Honduras

Men: A - Ireland, B - Portugal, C - Dominican Republic, D - Vietnam, E - Liberia, F - Turkey, G - Greece, H - England, I - France, J - Angola, K - Ghana, L - Belarus, M - Sierra Leone, N - Ethiopia, O - Kyrgyzstan, P - Morocco.

Overall winners Portugal for Men

Daniel Yallah Sportsmanship Award

Daniel Ijigu, Team Ethiopia

Golden Glove Award

Nicole Colley, Team USA 
Prince Monyan, Team Liberia

Golden Boot Award

Evelyn Ventura Garcia, Team Mexico
Nathan Karmbor, Team Liberia